Top 5 Fave Things

There are a few blogs taking a cue from GQ these days and featuring a top ten essentials piece. Here I list my top 5 and why I can’t live without these things.

1. Pellegrino

There is something I love about carbonation. Pellegrino is one of life’s simple pleasures. I used to drink soda but i’d rather waste those good calories on a couple quality beers on occasion. I buy Pellegrino by the case at costco and go through probably two bottles a day at least. Fact: San Pellegrino has been producing water for 600 years. Leonardo Da Vinci visited the town in 1509 to sample and examine the town’s “miraculous” water.

2. Oliver Peoples Patten Aviator Style Sunglasses

I’m out in the sun a lot and I require sunglasses. These Oliver Peoples are what I am wearing right now. They are extremely well made and I have taken them from Hawaii to Mexico in the past 6 months and they still look brand new. Plus, they were a gift from a girlfriend, so the $365.00 price tag didn’t dissuade me from getting them. Fact: Founders Dennis and Larry Leight purchased an estate collection of vintage eye wear that included a receipt signed “Oliver Peoples”. They decided to use the name for their collection.

3. J. Crew ‘Destroyed’ Vintage Oxford

I have about 3 of these Destroyed Oxford shirts in this classic color alone. They come pre-washed and only get better with age. I wear them with jeans or with shorts. They are almost like a security blanket because they are just so comfortable and there is something very masculine and classicly American about them. Fact: Women love men in vintage oxford shirts. Trust me ; )

4. Folli Follie Meditereano

I purchased this watch on Oahu and it hardly leaves my wrist. I wear it to the beach since it is water proof to 300 feet and it even compliments a button up shirt and jeans. The Greek based company is one of Japan’s top 10 luxury brands and has stores in over 24 countries. Currently the only stateside locations are in Hawaii and New York. Check it out at Folli Follie Fact: Folli Follie means “Crazy, Crazy” in Italian.

5. Toms Shoes

Toms is a great company. For every pair you purchase, a pair is given to a child in a third world country. I prefer either white or tan. I love pairing them with a pair of jeans and a button up shirt or just a pair of shorts and a t-shirt. They’ re for a good cause, extremely comfortable, and they have that great effortless style to them. Fact: The company was founded in 2006 and has already given away over 140,000 pairs of shoes.

Comment on this:

