Character Development; The Godfather and Three Events That Changed Me Forever.

As a writer I am a big fan of character development. Whenever a narrative or plot reveals to us that the character has grown or changed it’s amazing watching them evolve. Michael Corleone in The Godfather is a perfect example. But sometimes it’s a lot more subtle and sometimes it’s even the ending to a story, as is the case in George Orwell’s Nineteen-Eighty Four.

I’ve personally undergone some major character development in my own life. Here are three personal examples and their corresponding catalysts.

I became someone who was much more disciplined, and paid more attention to detail. More masculine. {Joined U.S. Navy at age 17.}

I became much more guarded and a hell of a lot less wet behind the ears in general when it came to trusting people. {Bad ending to a long relationship.}

I became much more humble, grounded and reserved. {A rise and a fall; I Made some tough mistakes, lost my business, and relocated out of CA to the Midwest.}

So, those are three really major things that drastically altered me.

I wouldn’t trade those experiences for anything in the world and I wouldn’t trade myself for anyone in the world. I am a firm believer in serendipity and I believe that I’m on my path and I’m right here for a reason. And I’m not just saying this above stuff, it’s shit that I actually mean. 

I also believe that the right interactions, people, messages, signs and lessons always have a way of finding you if you are looking for them – and my eyes are wide open.

Here is a great montage of Michael Corleone, following his character’s development.

And as an afterthought, sometimes character development is simply a product of habit or a result of cultivating yourself and working to become a certain way. Working to be that ‘perfect’ version of yourself; however, I’ve also seen character development go sour. People becoming shallow, arrogant, etc.,

P.S. I’m looking forward to watching the movie Limitless. I already read the script and there is definitely some MAJOR character development in that story.

Comment on this:

