Four Favorite Films

Having just had the sublime pleasure of watching Shawshank Redemption for the first time in my adult life, I immediately knew it would forever be one of my favorite films.

There are exactly three other movies which occupy an equally special place in my heart. So special that they feel as if they are an intangible part of my identity somehow; an intrinsic piece of the meaning and inspiration that drives me to create the story of my own life.

Some remind me to turn left, some remind me to turn right in life. They all remind me to just keep going.

Here is a piece of each.

The Count of Monte Cristo

Based on The Alexandre Dumas Novel written in 1844, The Count of Monte Cristo is the kind of movie that I want to go back in time just to watch again for the first time.

I would provide the trailer; however, the full film is available on Youtube and a trailer just wouldn’t do it justice. Enjoy.

###


Vanilla Sky

This movie is like a piece of art to me. Based on the Spanish film Abre Los Ojos, Vanilla Sky is like watching a music video – it’s simply beautiful.

Here is a scene that just chills my spine.

(incls spoilers;)

###

The Great Gatsby

What can I say, whether in book form or in either of the novel’s onscreen iterations, The Great Gatsby is a jazzy, yet raw piece that tells a story that we can all learn from in some way.

Here is a creative redux trailer for the original Gatsby film, starring Robert Redford.

And a tribute to Baz Luhrman’s Gatsby – featuring one of the soundtrack’s highlights.

###


Shawshank Redemption

There’s nothing I can say about this movie. It’s perfect.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6hB3S9bIaco

###

Comment on this:

