A Cocktail for The Soul

I just published what is unequivocally one of the most important entries this blog will ever have, Transcendental Realizations.

While I did offer up the caveat that I am not a meditation teacher or a spiritual guide – and this isn’t the exact process I used, I would be doing present and future readers a huge disservice if I didn’t also publish this entry, detailing one of my favorite meditation practices.

I was never great at meditating (until recently) and present day doctors would label me ADHD; however, I’m incredibly thankful this particular practice has become an important part of my life as before I would have had a drink to silence my mind, whereas now I enjoy a cocktail for the soul! – Meditation. (50 times more satisfying).

The Cocktail for Your Soul

Note: After the 55 min mark when the low brain waves begin is when I transcended.

My tips for meditating are:

  1. Drink some water, get comfortable, safely light a candle if you wish.
  2. Outline the goals which drive you to meditate. Is the goal an exploration of emotional states? spiritual enlightenment? Inner Peace? Or insights from a higher consciousness? Spend at least a few minutes in introspective reflection outlining the objectives of the meditation prior to meditating. Typically I select an area I need to improve on or something I know is bothering me. Sometimes it’s just that I’m feeling like shit. And it’s 100% okay to not have a goal, you don’t need one.
  3. Follow the guided meditation (Complete youtube embedded above for FREE, also avail for purchase at: Mind Silence, Stepping into Stillness by Paul Santisi) Note: Phenomenal program.
  4. Optional: Deep, slow, and relatively-effortless breaths that expand the stomach are a great addition – but not necessary if you are just beginning. Play with breathing in through your nose and out through your mouth and doing what feels natural.
  5. Keep white paper and a pen with blue ink next to you to write after you meditate. You might be surprised at what you can access.
3 thoughts on “A Cocktail for The Soul

  1. Pingback: Transcendental Realizations | 7saturdays

  2. Pingback: My Budding Romance with Meditation | 7saturdays

  3. Pingback: Meditations: Session Two | 7saturdays

Comment on this:

