Meditations: Session Three

I took less than a page of notes in my notebook after the third session in my meditations practice.

I suspect this could be a result of the fact that I didn’t set a clear enough intention going into this session. I was also a bit clouded by frustration and expectation; however, I got exactly what I needed through this practice – as has thus far been true (and as I think is generally true with both meditation and yoga, when practiced with proper presence).

I should note that I am not overly concerned with the volume of writing I produce here as I do this practice for the inestimable benefit of the personal meaning I find.

I plan on revisiting these writings for a long time and I think there’s likely a large benefit to doing so.

Perhaps in borrowing the title of Meditations I subconsciously intended for the writings I produce in my own meditations to be revisited by myself much as I often revisit the meditations of Marcus Aurelius (I own two copies, one mid-century hardcover and one modern paperback.)

Note: Everything within bold text (section headlines included) or parenthesis (except for the squiggly kind) and brackets was added at the time of this publication to organize / clarify and or add afterthought to the notes at the time of publishing.

Inner Peace (in Truth)

  • That Space in the moment – the true / genuine inner peace you get after you have a big life realization [What a peaceful feeling. Definitely one I hope to recreate in revisiting these writings – and something I hope I can internalize through their study].

Patience (in Yourself)

  • Patience is more about patience with yourself than with life. (It’s okay to accept that something was a certain way up until now and that you’ve now arrived at the right time for the desired change to happen in your life – you’re now ready to outgrow it.) You mature on your own time.

Personal Power (in your Humanity)

  • What more proof of your existence (and personal power) do you “want” expect of life than the fact you are on the planet earth in a domicile. You’re (a member of) the most advanced species ever.
  • YOU’VE GOT WHAT IT TAKES. (Footnote 1)

Gratitude (For Your Life)

  • People would literally kill to have your life (i.e., Syrian refugees or North Korean prisoners). Don’t waste it [because someone else would kill for it].

Trust (In the Universe – in Yourself)

  • You’re in the safety of your 29th year / 30’s. [Trust in the universe – don’t obsess with death.]

Footnote 1: When I wrote this [“You’ve got what it takes”] I thought of the following quote from Steve Jobs (specifically the bolded text, which I added for emphasis): “When you grow up you, tend to get told that the world is the way it is and your life is just to live your life inside the world, try not to bash into the walls too much, try to have a nice family, have fun, save a little money. That’s a very limited life. Life can be much broader, once you discover one simple fact, and that is that everything around you that you call life was made up by people that were no smarter than you. And you can change it, you can influence it, you can build your own things that other people can use. Once you learn that, you’ll never be the same again.”

Comment on this:

