Poetry: A Day or Two or Three


One thousand-ninety-five-days, almost there Bunny S.

I was just getting good at this. Yeah, you’ve heard that one before huh.

Anyhow, let’s settle on those names we’ve chewed on and plan the whole thing as it burns. Watching our dreams carry away like remnants of burning paper to the night.

It’s a strange thing seeing the end coming, but it looks like light at the end of the tunnel – doesn’t it?

I can see it now:

We’d move to Portland next summer where you’d join an indie band.

The things we might do in a city we’d hardly return to. [We’ll make a list.]

I joke about it but that sweet voice should be used for better things than lamenting these shortcomings – but, I digress.

My fortune would grow, and we’d collect watches and books.
We’d cook roast chicken in the fall and prepare steak salad in the spring – me putting capers on everything.
After fighting incessantly on it – as lovers do – we’d find the perfect house.
We’d paint peace signs on the backboard of the hoop in the drive.
‘Yeah, I let her win – that’s it’,
‘Kyle!’

Of course we’d need a big dog for laying around with us as we read books and played footsie.

And you’d pretend to hate me as we did all manner of new and exciting things.
How do we make our own Gelato – with Stevia.
Cavies.

And I could continue on, down to me and you building stuff in the garage, because we do weird things together and we like it. [Or maybe you just do them because you love me.]
I know this doesn’t rhyme – but we don’t either.
And neither do I have a reason for it, it just is.

You see, there’s things I’m figuring out,
The essence of which I don’t know how to describe.

But it’s a sort of spiritual quality in the “us”,
The banal becomes like a dream frozen in time.

So, no matter how the day goes, I will see you later and that’s absolutely beyond describing because, well, no matter what we do – it’s going to have that quality to it.

But I’m going to make today (and all else) good because I want to for the royal we that is us.

Now here’s the part where I make a request,

Just one road trip before you go. A day or two or three.

Comment on this:

