Poetry: Somewhere in Time

All I know is that I know nothing
A wise woman taught me this and other lessons, which I am learning in time

And from time, I’ve come closer to my dreams, and I’ve learned that my fears aren’t what they seem
So I take responsibility for being me, and I slow down and go back to the time when no one else was around
When she and I lived ten years of love in our time

Our time was the time of a life,
Back in the crazy days when she was my wife
Oh boy, were we ever a hot mess

But she’s my healer – my little one – my love dealer
And I feel her, because I know the real her,
The ratchet princess,
And the only girl who ever forgave me for what she gave me

The truth is, this time she saved me,
From love poems and hurt hearts,
From lusting after something I can never find in another,
And from a lifetime of not knowing her

So I know now, that I will never again have to tell anyone else all the stories behind my scars,
Because she already loved me through all of them

And this isn’t a new lust
For ours is a deeper trust
In her heart, and in mine,
Knowing that somewhere in time, the two will always be connected

Comment on this:

