For Sarah

I’d spent years, every type of therapy,
Seeking desperately for a cure to my story

But not even LSD could teach me not to see
But still, I tried to kill the myth in me

I wanted to drown out the pain
The feeling of believing one has suffered in vain

So, not knowing better, I did what I did: I hid
In bars and alone on train cars, beneath tattoos and scars

And I even managed to sneak in and out of a few hearts
For, after all, who has not sought comfort in a stranger or fifty’s arms – no harm

But society was never the right mirror for me,
I only related to dead people, for they were always my preferred company

I found more truth in books than I ever saw in another’s looks
Windows to the soul never saw me – but alas…

And so, seeking sanity, I finally learned to be alone.
And for the first time in my life, I was okay on my own:

Of course, just when I stopped searching,
I find my forever home.

And, life’s script always following the great Bard of Avon:
The course of our true love did too never run smooth

So, I did what men do, I erected a veil for a fortress,
Reminding us both, “I didn’t need You”

And you would agree too;
We stuck our noses in the air at one another, like sister and brother

And despite the shit we went through,
We held to – as true lovers always do

Then I turn 31 and you take a work trip to DC for the week
And woe is me, I never felt so weak

So lonely without all I need,
So helpless and gasping for our air to breathe

And I’m sorry that it took being without you to see
But now I remember why this world’s not for me – not without you to help me be

Because I sought for years to be okay, but I think it’s time I accept that the kid’s not alright –
Because I’m more lonely than I’ve ever been on these wretched, godless, nights

So, I’ll remember when I close my eyes tonight,
That Your’s was the only light I ever saw

And I’ll be waiting here,
To cling to your breast as a bird does the nest

Knowing that I will not make it out of this life alive,
But that I can get through it with you by my side

I am not much for this world, truth be told
But I am for Sarah, whom my affection grants her possession of my eternal soul

And thy eternal summer shall not fade,
Least of all in these short few more wintery days

Comment on this:

