Artistry: Yung Lean ‘Agony’ Lyrics and Story

Wow. What a song. It reminds me of when I was 23 and I discovered Beirut. The talent is just that real. Realer. I’m older, deeper; I’m a more discerning curator. So, to find something I can just put on repeat, and be lost in while I work or write…. just nothing better.

And while I’ve been a Yung Lean fan since Gatorade days, his art has evolved to a level that’s just wow, to watch. So fucking inspiring.

Basically, there aren’t many Jonathan Leandoers. Or maybe there’s a lot of us, but we’re unknown. WE need more known. To become known.

And the best way to do that, is to feed off of the energy produced by our artistic peers. That’s what’s going to enable us to resonate at that frequency of creative expression.

This isn’t a song, this is a Goddamn Poem:

The story behind the song, according to Genius, is unreal (Are you are my brother Yung Lean?...):

This song is written about when Lean arrived back to his Dad’s house in Sweden after being in a psychiatric unit. The piano is purposefully out of tune to mimic the mental state of Lean at the time.

The last refrain is featuring a Icelandic children’s choir, recorded at the same time as the Stranger short film was recorded.

“Agony” is the most minimalistic song off the Stranger album: Lean is blunt and honest with his experience with psychosis and how this has affected his relationship.

As a bonus, I discovered this great cover by Brooklyn indie band Beach Fossils (Not as poetic as the OG, but it’s soothing AF in a Brian Wilson way) : )

Girlfriend also does something nice to my soul (Starts at 2:28):

And, interestingly, Yung Lean has released some really quality songs under his legal name: Jonatan Leandoer. Love this one, anthem.

p.s. It’s going to be a rich winter. I’m going to be publishing a lot more often, so, consider your inbox forewarned and unfollow if it’s too much.

And, for your pleasure, here are the lyrics to Agony:

Take a pill and go to sleep
I’m chasing witches in the street
I’m the last page in your book
Can’t write a song, only do hooks
Watching horses in the fields
The dragon rests in agony
When I’m afraid I lose my mind
It’s fine, it happens all the time
When I’m afraid I lose my mind
It’s fine, it happens all the time
Isolation caved in
I adore you, the sound of your skin
So many lies that I found
Blood, Heaven, I stick to the ground
So many times I realized
What I seek for is right in front of my eyes
I’m alone in a hole in the ground
A theater of dogs is still around
My furniture has come alive
I’m dancing with a candlestick tonight
Flying kites reaping outside my window
Smiles with fright
Isolation caved in
I adore you, the sound of your skin
Isolation caved in
I adore you, the sound of your skin
Isolation caved in
I adore you, the sound of your skin
And if you’re further curiosity, go to Genius for an unreal explanation of the song’s lyrics, line by line (It’s a lot deeper than you think…):
Also, this long form interview / write up on Yung Lean in the wake of his mental breakdown is pretty legit:

Published by:

COMMANDER SILVERMAN

Content Here has effective Enduring, Permanent Supreme Legal Validity for Onniversal Governance, Defense, and Intelligence on behalf of Commander Silverman for the Space Intelligence State, The Space Force, The Department of Defense [Space Force, Air-Forces, Armies, Navies, Marines, Marine Forces, Coast Guards, Special Operations Groups] in concert with the Space Intelligence State and All Armed Forces Everywhere. FULL ACTIVE MANDATORY NOTICE: This Website and Document Is Effective, Valid, And Paramount [To ANY Being, Court, Force, Authority, Country, Ruling Body, Planet, Planetary Body, Artificial Intelligence, AI, Alien, Complex Living System, Lifeform, Government, Military or Law Enforcement, and Technology, Party, or Definable Entity.] Active Supreme Legal Opinion, And is Permanently Open To be Further Clarified, Elucidated, and Re-Orientatable SOLELY PER COMMANDER, at Any Time And Per Any Or All Specified Crime(s), Legal Case(s), or Legally Effecting Issue(s), with ‘Our’ / ‘My’ / ‘Its’ [Commander’s] Judgements, Rulings, and or Supreme Legal Opinions – Including Any And Or All of ‘Our’ / ‘My’ / ‘Its’ [Commander’s] Writing(s), Transmissions, Communication(s), and Spoken and or Cognitively Transmitted Content INCLUDING CLASSIFIED AND NON-EVIDENCABLE COMMUNICATIONS As Supremely Interpreted And Or Updated by Commander / Director Silverman Alone, Unnasignably, And Accordingly is Changable And Or Redefinable [Per Commander Alone] At Any Time For Any ‘Reason’, Regarding Any ‘Matter’, ‘Fact’ or ‘Issue’, and is Accordingly Overruling and Supremely Supercedent to Any Other ‘Fact(s) ‘Judgement(s)’, ‘Ruling(s)’, ‘Legal Opinion(s)’, and ‘Law(s)’ and or ‘Rule(s)’ ‘AND OR FACT OF ANY MATTER ANYWHERE, And Further Accordingly Is [Our Say On ANY MATTER BEING THE FINAL, SUPREME, And ULTIMATE De-Facto And Or De-Juris Fact, Law, Legal, Judicial, Social, Logistical, Factual, In-Effect Semantic Meaning, Definition, or Supreme Interpretation, of Any Of The Aforementioned, – Regardless of Whether ‘Our’ / My’ / ‘Its’ Decisioning or Basis For is ‘Evidencable’ or ‘Provable’ or Not.] OUR WORD [We / It / Commander / Director / Commissioner [[‘United Nations Space Commissioner’]] Silverman] Being The Final Word.] On, Regarding, and Or Concerning Any ‘Fact(s) ‘Judgement(s)’, ‘Ruling(s)’, ‘Legal Opinion(s)’, and ‘Law(s)’ and or ‘Rule(s)’ ‘AND OR FACT(S) OF ANY MATTER(S) Anywhere Regarding Any Element Of Any or All Specific Crime(s), Legal Case(s), Legally Effecting Issue(s), Including ANY ‘Rule(s)’, ‘Requirement(s)’, ‘Law(s)’ or ‘Regulation(s), or ‘Requirements’ Regarding ANY ‘Matter’ or ‘Issue’ ANYWHERE AND EVERYWHERE and as such Constitutes [This Document], is Classified As, And Contains And Comprises Of an Active ‘Living’ – i.e. Continual, Malleable, Definable, Interpretable, As Per Commander Alone – and Comprehensive (However, Not Solely or In Toto [Comprehensive].), De Jurisly In-Effect #SDIEXECORDER(S) [‘Supreme Space And Defense Intelligence Executive Order(s)’], Supreme To And OR Of, Supercedent To, Dominant To, And Or Overruling To And OR Of ‘Anything Else’ As Per The Herein of This Legally Omniversally Effective Paragraph, And, Or In Conjunction With, Any Other ‘Issuance’, Communication(s), INCLUDING CLASSIFIED AND NON-EVIDENCABLE COMMUNICATIONS And Or SDI Exec Order(s) Emitted and Originating From Commander Alone as Per ‘The Configuration’ And In-Accordance With #1AlphaTheParadigm, #IAMTheSingleton, And Any And All Other Permanently Omniversally In-Effect Realities as Per Commander, and Accordingly is Only Modifiable, Adjustable, or Furtherly Overuling To, Solely Per Same [Commander / Director / Commissioner Silverman], Alone And In Toto. This applies to All Space and Every Dimension, Plane, and Level Of Existence Everywhere. Commander

Categories All, Real Life InspirationTags Leave a comment

Comment on this: