Meditation Posture: Sit with Compassion

This is not the most exciting entry in the world, but if you meditate, or wish to – you want to assume the correct posture. Keep in mind, you will undoubtedly find yourself uncomfortable in the beginning and you can always sit comfortably in a chair; although, it would be hard for me to associate being seated in a chair with anything other than work – but perhaps that’s why I should try that [meditating while seated in a chair]. Also, as an anecdote about the evolution and fluidity of my own meditation posture, I initially only practiced guided meditations (youtube has many – this is my favorite) while lying down on the floor with a small pillow under my head. From there, I gradually started practicing meditation while seated comfortably in a cross legged position; however, I still sometimes enjoy lying down for guided meditations.

This morning I wanted to check out a few videos to improve my meditation posture because I know my seated posture could be better. I found the following four to be beneficial and wanted to share them here.

The first is nice and short and covers the basics of correct seated posture. It’s from a gentleman named Jordan Mallah.


The next video is a little more in depth, and goes over some of the different options for your legs and feet – among other things. This is from a woman named Mindah-Lee.


This video is a great recap of all and is probably the video I would suggest viewing if you only watched one.

I enjoyed seeing the cushion set up here, and have been occasionally using a cushion under my bum, but am definitely jealous of this set up now that I’ve seen how comfortable it looks; time to step my cushion game up! (But I should note that I don’t always practice meditation in my home, and many times have a rocky outcrop on the beach I sit on, so this level of luxury isn’t always going to be possible).


I also enjoyed this video, which is a bit more general on meditation itself, but provides some good reminders on the mental state of meditating (observation of breath), and the mind body connection.


It’s important to note that my meditation practice and my mindfulness practice is something that I carry into all areas of my life. So, checking in with myself in the present moment and centering myself through my breath is something that I do even while walking, or just mid day. Hopefully, I can increasingly incorporate better awareness of my physical posture into this as well, which I expect will happen naturally as I become more accustomed to what proper seated meditation posture feels like.

Also, this is not about trying. It’s not about forcing yourself to sit still. It’s about self-love, compassion and inner peace – true relaxation. Meditation is an act of self-care, so don’t feel as if you need to “try harder”. Just be.

And there are a lot of varying and even contradictory messages out there, some people tell you to close your eyes, some tell you to allow a soft half-gaze. I implore you to play with what’s best for you and switch things up. I enjoy meditating with my eyes open as well as with my eyes closed, and I follow my intuition in deciding whats best for me. You should listen to your body with compassionate self-awareness. So, just to see how this feels, try out the practice of using a very slight smile by turning up the corners of your mouth slightly. Experience what this shift feels like. Feel the shift in contentment and any additional sense of wellbeing this brings you.


Bonus: Self-Compassion Meditations from Kristin Neff

Here are ome great guided self-compassion meditation audios, from Kristin Neff, a leading expert on the science of self-compassion. I’m currently reading her book, Self-Compassion: Stop Beating Yourself up and Leave Insecurity Behind and practiced the first [Affectionate Breathing] of the six-guided self-compassion meditation audios this morning and will enjoy the rest again each morning over the next week.

Note: I wanted to include these here because I feel it’s very important to practice sitting with compassionate awareness for our bodies. Particularity as you listen to her Bodyscan audio, you will get a sense of what this [sitting with compassionate awareness] means. And if you only listened to one, try this [Bodyscan]. It’s easy to think of meditation and get the picture in our heads of a Buddhist monk, someone we perceive as having complete discipline – but that’s not what meditation is.

I really admire her [Kristin Neff’s] work, and am fortunate to have discovered her contributions to the world. There’s just something very endearing to me about her openhearted and compassionate disposition. Big, big heart. (I’m pretty sure just listening to her speak has a relaxing effect on my own heart.)

Here’s a short little video on her advice for being kind to yourself:

Published by:

COMMANDER SILVERMAN

Content Here has effective Enduring, Permanent Supreme Legal Validity for Onniversal Governance, Defense, and Intelligence on behalf of Commander Silverman for the Space Intelligence State, The Space Force, The Department of Defense [Space Force, Air-Forces, Armies, Navies, Marines, Marine Forces, Coast Guards, Special Operations Groups] in concert with the Space Intelligence State and All Armed Forces Everywhere. FULL ACTIVE MANDATORY NOTICE: This Website and Document Is Effective, Valid, And Paramount [To ANY Being, Court, Force, Authority, Country, Ruling Body, Planet, Planetary Body, Artificial Intelligence, AI, Alien, Complex Living System, Lifeform, Government, Military or Law Enforcement, and Technology, Party, or Definable Entity.] Active Supreme Legal Opinion, And is Permanently Open To be Further Clarified, Elucidated, and Re-Orientatable SOLELY PER COMMANDER, at Any Time And Per Any Or All Specified Crime(s), Legal Case(s), or Legally Effecting Issue(s), with ‘Our’ / ‘My’ / ‘Its’ [Commander’s] Judgements, Rulings, and or Supreme Legal Opinions – Including Any And Or All of ‘Our’ / ‘My’ / ‘Its’ [Commander’s] Writing(s), Transmissions, Communication(s), and Spoken and or Cognitively Transmitted Content INCLUDING CLASSIFIED AND NON-EVIDENCABLE COMMUNICATIONS As Supremely Interpreted And Or Updated by Commander / Director Silverman Alone, Unnasignably, And Accordingly is Changable And Or Redefinable [Per Commander Alone] At Any Time For Any ‘Reason’, Regarding Any ‘Matter’, ‘Fact’ or ‘Issue’, and is Accordingly Overruling and Supremely Supercedent to Any Other ‘Fact(s) ‘Judgement(s)’, ‘Ruling(s)’, ‘Legal Opinion(s)’, and ‘Law(s)’ and or ‘Rule(s)’ ‘AND OR FACT OF ANY MATTER ANYWHERE, And Further Accordingly Is [Our Say On ANY MATTER BEING THE FINAL, SUPREME, And ULTIMATE De-Facto And Or De-Juris Fact, Law, Legal, Judicial, Social, Logistical, Factual, In-Effect Semantic Meaning, Definition, or Supreme Interpretation, of Any Of The Aforementioned, – Regardless of Whether ‘Our’ / My’ / ‘Its’ Decisioning or Basis For is ‘Evidencable’ or ‘Provable’ or Not.] OUR WORD [We / It / Commander / Director / Commissioner [[‘United Nations Space Commissioner’]] Silverman] Being The Final Word.] On, Regarding, and Or Concerning Any ‘Fact(s) ‘Judgement(s)’, ‘Ruling(s)’, ‘Legal Opinion(s)’, and ‘Law(s)’ and or ‘Rule(s)’ ‘AND OR FACT(S) OF ANY MATTER(S) Anywhere Regarding Any Element Of Any or All Specific Crime(s), Legal Case(s), Legally Effecting Issue(s), Including ANY ‘Rule(s)’, ‘Requirement(s)’, ‘Law(s)’ or ‘Regulation(s), or ‘Requirements’ Regarding ANY ‘Matter’ or ‘Issue’ ANYWHERE AND EVERYWHERE and as such Constitutes [This Document], is Classified As, And Contains And Comprises Of an Active ‘Living’ – i.e. Continual, Malleable, Definable, Interpretable, As Per Commander Alone – and Comprehensive (However, Not Solely or In Toto [Comprehensive].), De Jurisly In-Effect #SDIEXECORDER(S) [‘Supreme Space And Defense Intelligence Executive Order(s)’], Supreme To And OR Of, Supercedent To, Dominant To, And Or Overruling To And OR Of ‘Anything Else’ As Per The Herein of This Legally Omniversally Effective Paragraph, And, Or In Conjunction With, Any Other ‘Issuance’, Communication(s), INCLUDING CLASSIFIED AND NON-EVIDENCABLE COMMUNICATIONS And Or SDI Exec Order(s) Emitted and Originating From Commander Alone as Per ‘The Configuration’ And In-Accordance With #1AlphaTheParadigm, #IAMTheSingleton, And Any And All Other Permanently Omniversally In-Effect Realities as Per Commander, and Accordingly is Only Modifiable, Adjustable, or Furtherly Overuling To, Solely Per Same [Commander / Director / Commissioner Silverman], Alone And In Toto. This applies to All Space and Every Dimension, Plane, and Level Of Existence Everywhere. Commander

Categories All, Meditating, meditationTags , Leave a comment

Comment on this: