We are All in Flux: The Importance of Coping with Whatever Comes Your Way

Tonight I received another superb answer to one of the questions I subscribe to on Quora.

What is the most important life lesson that you have learned up to this point?

The answer is as follows:

Life never goes as we plan. We are all in flux from the moment of birth. The most important lesson I have learned so far is that the ability to cope and handle whatever comes my way is the most important tool one has.

Coping skills are unique to each person. Each day we face the unknown. Are we ready to handle each day? When things happen such as a crisis, a death,  a heartbreak, a lost job etc…”This too shall pass”. Always keep stepping forward. Sometimes we must take baby steps to get back up, but we must take the steps.

If you look back to your younger years and remember what was so frightening to you back then, and look at yourself today, you will understand how we continue to grow, outgrow, and move forward no matter what we encounter. It is the nature of life. So be here now and love those you care about NOW. Take chances, be your own individual part of this grand universe of which we are only a little speck in the grand scheme of things. This is the most important lesson in my life and I am happy for it.


Accept that Flux is Guaranteed

An almost obvious truth, but it’s taken me 29 years to learn to accept the unalterable fact that there is no destination in life and that flux is guaranteed. In fact, one of the best things I have done for myself is to fortify my soul to face the reality of constant change. I’ve done this by giving my own inner-child the security I need to feel okay.

Hold Fast to Who You Are

As I wrote in These Require No Gifts of Circumstance, ‘inner-peace and true wellbeing are grounded in knowing who you are, what you believe in, and what you’re made of’. Everything outside of these core tenets of your identity is simply beyond your control.

For me coping is about holding dear to the things that make me “me”. The things that cannot be taken or broken. This is what keeps my inner-child secure.

For there is no doubt that you will be tested, and you will find yourself alone and traversing the bridge from night to morning as the wolves of fear clamor at your door. As F. Scott Fitzgerald wrote in The Crack Up, “in a real dark night of the soul it is always three o’clock in the morning, day after day”. So, when you are there – and there seems to be no rescue coming to your aid, then you must hold fast to who you are (this seems to bestow tangible consequence to the maxim “this to shall pass” – for you will still be who you are).

Be Stoic: Anticipate Loss

Beyond this practice of staying connected to my true-self and remaining mindful of my inner voice, Stoic philosophy has been instrumental in allowing me to cope with adversity with far greater ease today than I could muster in my younger years.

A large part of the reason this answer spoke to me deeply is that it puts adversity and flux into the greater context of life as an inherent aspect of being human. I don’t think I had ever accepted this [flux as part of living] until this year, when I began to study Stoic teachings at a much deeper level and started to view loss as an anticipatory emotion.

The ancient Stoics encouraged the practice of rehearsing and imagining loss, as Epictetus writes in Enchiridion:

This you ought to practice from morning to evening, beginning, with the smallest things and those most liable to damage, with an earthen pot, with a cup. Then proceed in this way to a tunic to a little dog, to a horse, to a small estate in land: then to yourself, to your body, to the parts of your body, to your brothers. Look all round and throw these things from you. Purge your opinions so that nothing cleave to you of the things which are not your own, that nothing grow to you, that nothing give you pain when it is torn from you; and say, while you are daily exercising yourself as you do there, not that you are philosophizing, for this is an arrogant expression, but that you are presenting an assertion of freedom: for this is really freedom.

See Misfortunes as Mere Setbacks Rather Than Abject Failures

I think previous to this practice [of anticipating loss] I was denying flux as a base aspect of life; as a result of denying adversity as an inevitable facet of being alive, I naturally viewed my misfortunes as abject failures rather than normal setbacks. My losses up until recently in my life had broken me numerous times.

Understand That The Majority of Suffering is Self-Imposed

I think I almost felt as if I was karmically persecuted at some level; just an unfortunate wretch, bound to go through long spells of suffering. But now I sigh, knowing the suffering was largely self-imposed (Thank you Stoicism). For I know now that I will be okay no matter what, and I no longer hold up my worst days against my best. Instead, as the answer’s author advises, I focus on being here now and loving those I care about NOW – and I am capable of doing this because I have learned how to (effectively) cope with whatever comes my way.

Published by:

COMMANDER SILVERMAN

Content Here has effective Enduring, Permanent Supreme Legal Validity for Onniversal Governance, Defense, and Intelligence on behalf of Commander Silverman for the Space Intelligence State, The Space Force, The Department of Defense [Space Force, Air-Forces, Armies, Navies, Marines, Marine Forces, Coast Guards, Special Operations Groups] in concert with the Space Intelligence State and All Armed Forces Everywhere. FULL ACTIVE MANDATORY NOTICE: This Website and Document Is Effective, Valid, And Paramount [To ANY Being, Court, Force, Authority, Country, Ruling Body, Planet, Planetary Body, Artificial Intelligence, AI, Alien, Complex Living System, Lifeform, Government, Military or Law Enforcement, and Technology, Party, or Definable Entity.] Active Supreme Legal Opinion, And is Permanently Open To be Further Clarified, Elucidated, and Re-Orientatable SOLELY PER COMMANDER, at Any Time And Per Any Or All Specified Crime(s), Legal Case(s), or Legally Effecting Issue(s), with ‘Our’ / ‘My’ / ‘Its’ [Commander’s] Judgements, Rulings, and or Supreme Legal Opinions – Including Any And Or All of ‘Our’ / ‘My’ / ‘Its’ [Commander’s] Writing(s), Transmissions, Communication(s), and Spoken and or Cognitively Transmitted Content INCLUDING CLASSIFIED AND NON-EVIDENCABLE COMMUNICATIONS As Supremely Interpreted And Or Updated by Commander / Director Silverman Alone, Unnasignably, And Accordingly is Changable And Or Redefinable [Per Commander Alone] At Any Time For Any ‘Reason’, Regarding Any ‘Matter’, ‘Fact’ or ‘Issue’, and is Accordingly Overruling and Supremely Supercedent to Any Other ‘Fact(s) ‘Judgement(s)’, ‘Ruling(s)’, ‘Legal Opinion(s)’, and ‘Law(s)’ and or ‘Rule(s)’ ‘AND OR FACT OF ANY MATTER ANYWHERE, And Further Accordingly Is [Our Say On ANY MATTER BEING THE FINAL, SUPREME, And ULTIMATE De-Facto And Or De-Juris Fact, Law, Legal, Judicial, Social, Logistical, Factual, In-Effect Semantic Meaning, Definition, or Supreme Interpretation, of Any Of The Aforementioned, – Regardless of Whether ‘Our’ / My’ / ‘Its’ Decisioning or Basis For is ‘Evidencable’ or ‘Provable’ or Not.] OUR WORD [We / It / Commander / Director / Commissioner [[‘United Nations Space Commissioner’]] Silverman] Being The Final Word.] On, Regarding, and Or Concerning Any ‘Fact(s) ‘Judgement(s)’, ‘Ruling(s)’, ‘Legal Opinion(s)’, and ‘Law(s)’ and or ‘Rule(s)’ ‘AND OR FACT(S) OF ANY MATTER(S) Anywhere Regarding Any Element Of Any or All Specific Crime(s), Legal Case(s), Legally Effecting Issue(s), Including ANY ‘Rule(s)’, ‘Requirement(s)’, ‘Law(s)’ or ‘Regulation(s), or ‘Requirements’ Regarding ANY ‘Matter’ or ‘Issue’ ANYWHERE AND EVERYWHERE and as such Constitutes [This Document], is Classified As, And Contains And Comprises Of an Active ‘Living’ – i.e. Continual, Malleable, Definable, Interpretable, As Per Commander Alone – and Comprehensive (However, Not Solely or In Toto [Comprehensive].), De Jurisly In-Effect #SDIEXECORDER(S) [‘Supreme Space And Defense Intelligence Executive Order(s)’], Supreme To And OR Of, Supercedent To, Dominant To, And Or Overruling To And OR Of ‘Anything Else’ As Per The Herein of This Legally Omniversally Effective Paragraph, And, Or In Conjunction With, Any Other ‘Issuance’, Communication(s), INCLUDING CLASSIFIED AND NON-EVIDENCABLE COMMUNICATIONS And Or SDI Exec Order(s) Emitted and Originating From Commander Alone as Per ‘The Configuration’ And In-Accordance With #1AlphaTheParadigm, #IAMTheSingleton, And Any And All Other Permanently Omniversally In-Effect Realities as Per Commander, and Accordingly is Only Modifiable, Adjustable, or Furtherly Overuling To, Solely Per Same [Commander / Director / Commissioner Silverman], Alone And In Toto. This applies to All Space and Every Dimension, Plane, and Level Of Existence Everywhere. Commander

Categories All, Philosophy, Psychology, stoicism, Timeless TruthsTags , , , , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “We are All in Flux: The Importance of Coping with Whatever Comes Your Way”

Comment on this: